Apple Pie

Taking trips to England with a group of Germans is an interesting experience. For one, it made me realize that no one really has a desire to learn the others language. The entire trip all I heard and spoke was German, except for a few random times when I wandered off by myself. I suppose this is understandable. People are afraid to make mistakes and cause confusion. But one of the few times a person is forced to use another language, when in a foreign culture, is when you order food.

After a 20 hour bus ride from Germany to England, we pulled into a McDonalds to get the full British cuisine experience. The students acted like they had never seen one before and exclaimed,

“Oh, McDonalds, yum!”.

The students happily ran to the Mcdonalds because they spent the whole bus ride expressing their fear about how awful the British food was, while eating cold wursts out of plastic packaging.

We all scampered out of the bus and hobbled over to the McDonalds. It was about 6 am and they had two people working there; for some reason they were both very happy. I, for one, would not be happy if fifty sixteen-year-old germans stampeded me at my usually calm 6 am shift at McDonalds. I placed my order with my sweet American accent, which fortunately the Brits understood, and then stepped back to observe the sure-to-be-humor whilst sipping on my coffee and eating my bagel.

The first few students made it through with honors, but then two girls stepped up the counter. They whispered to each other and pointed at the menu. They then asked the overly-happy, and soon to be confused teller,

“Could we have some apple pee please?”

I snarfed up some coffee, while a look of horror slowly swept across the once happy face of the teller. The girls didn’t realize anything and congratulated one another on their perfect English. The teller gave a slow response,

“What?”

The girls then became flustered and repeated their question one more time, but louder and slower.

“Aaaaa-pple Peeeeeeeee” and pointed once again at the menu.

For those of you who don’t speak German, they pronounce “ie” as if it were a long “e”. After a few minutes the employee realized this the blunder and was saved from urinating into a cup.

I don’t want to think about the many times I’ve tried speaking German and have seen that same look of horror sweep across a random persons’ face. There will be many more times I’m sure.

1 Comment

Filed under adventure, Uncategorized

One response to “Apple Pie

  1. Mika

    oh how this makes up for all my embarrassing moments in Deutschland! hehehe apple pee…wie eklig! miss you muchos O’Sullivan!

Leave a Reply

