Copy/Paste: A Year In Review

As we march on into what seems like a futile attempt to keep the old standards alive… here are my “standards” for 2009:

So much great music came out this year, I decided to arrange my top choices in a new way… Here are two, 20-track playlists that I would say are a good distillation of what stood out… and yes, the order does matter.

INSIDE
Bracket, WI – Bon Iver
Fine For Now – Grizzly Bear
Malibu Gas Station – Sonic Youth
My Girls – Animal Collective
Ghost Symbol – Zero 7
See The Leaves – The Flaming Lips
Lover’s Carvings – Bibio
Useful Chamber – Dirty Projectors
Batty Boyz – DOOM
Natures Uplifting Revenge – Prefuse 73
Surprise Stefani – Dan Deacon
DDMMYYYY – Soap&Skin
New Tricks – Great Northern
Star Eyes (I Can’t Catch It) (with David Lynch) – Danger Mouse & Sparklehorse
Amuse Bouche – Fischerspooner
The Fun Powder Plot – Wild Beasts
I’m An Animal – Neko Case
Infinity – The xx
Roses (ft. Georgia Anne Muldrow) – Mos Def
Marrow – St. Vincent

OUTSIDE
Drown In The Now (ft. Matisyahu) – The Crystal Method
Shock Doctrine (Eskmo Remix) – STS9
La Niña Rica – Bomba Estéreo
Not Your Average Girl (ft. Shareefa) – Ghostface Killah
1901 – Phoenix
On To The Next One (ft. Swizz Beatz) – Jay-Z
Hope You’re Happy (ft. Billy Danze, Nikki Wray & Q-Tip) – Blakroc
Sabali – Amadou & Mariam
Horsey Noisers – Venetian Snares
Jumps The Fence (ft. Connan Mockasin) – The BPA
One Above One – Vitalic
Ghosts N STuff (Nero Remix) (ft. Rob Swire) – Deadmau5
Pulls Me Back – Rhymefest
Evil Deeds – Wu-Tang Clan
TheMark (ft. D-Styles) – Themselves
Escape Me (ft. Cc Sheffield) – Tiësto
Tonight – The Big Pink
Take Me To The Hospital – The Prodigy
Don’t Hold Back, Feel A Little Longer – The Most Serene Republic

… and for film: Top 10
(granted, I missed a lot that sound like they would bump these around):

01. Antichrist
02. My Son, My Son What Have Ye Done?
03. A Serious Man
04. Where The Wild Things Are
05. Inglorious Basterds
06. Whatever Works
07. Broken Embraces
08. 45365
09. Collapse
10. The Informant

Happy New Year!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Copy/Paste: A Year In Review

  1. Great lists. Thanks Wilson and happy New Year to you as well!

  2. I truely true!!! I think your site is nice ! thanks for the story

  3. wbs

    last week, a friend introduced me to the album BiRd-BrAiNs by tUnE-YaRdS (basically a one-woman band) – an amazing, experimental, lo-fi record that uses basic recording to capture a really gritty pastiche/folk/psych/electro-acoustic feel… a MUST

  4. Zahnfleisch

    ¡Tequilabot!

Leave a comment